By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exhibition
Exhibition

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Postponed to 2021: Big City Life

Today: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

13 February 2021 - 20 June 2021

On the basis of Frans Masereel’s famous woodcuts, impressive testimonies to the human condition in the city during the interwar period, the exhibition «Big City Life» at Cartoonmuseum Basel presents originals by comics artists – works that are either set in the city or are about it. Focusing on the diversity of form and content in contemporary auteur comics, the exhibition brings together selected renowned artists from Europe and the USA.

Regardless of whether they celebrate the city as a laboratory of dynamism and modernity, brand it as a place of vice, find the village within it, despair of its anonymity, discover its poetry or show its chaos, the artists’ perceptions and representations of the city are just as idiosyncratic and diverse as the perspectives from which they view it as a habitat.

The affectionate drawings by Parisian gentleman Sempé, the precise everyday observations of Dropsie Avenue by Will Eisner, inventor of the graphic novel, the bitter reaction to the 9/11 catastrophe by Pulitzer-Prize-winning comics artist Art Spiegelman, co-editor of «RAW magazine», the surreal urban tales by Gabriella Giandelli, and Helge Reumann’s worlds that oscillate between madness and humour – all are united by the strong presence of the city as a social space.

The techniques used to realise these works are as varied as the themes laid out here. They range from the impressions of city wanderer Christoph Niemann, sparingly and directly translated into paint, to Lorenzo Mattotti’s expressively abstracted ink works, from Chris Ware’s technically structured panels to Yann Kebbi’s spontaneous freehand drawings, and from reportage painted in blood by Michaël Matthys to the naive cardboard city by Belgian artist duo Thierry Van Hasselt and Marcel Schmitz.


Special

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Comics in the online classroom!

01 March 2021 | 5.00 PM - 6.30 PM

Necessity is the mother of invention: The art education department of the Cartoonmuseum Basel offers ideas and reading based on the new exhibition «Big City Life». Bring variety to the digital classroom!

Zoom meeting always on Monday from 5 to 6.30 pm. Registration ...
Read more
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Cut it yourself

07 March 2021 | 1.30 PM - 4.30 PM

Basel artist Marcel Mayer, who exhibits in Switzerland and abroad, has been running druckwerk, a studio for letterpress, lithography and copperplate printing, since 1994. He has also been teaching woodcut printing at SfG Basel since 2018. In this workshop, he will explain the ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sunday guided tour

14 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour with Murielle Cornut ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sunday guided tour in French

21 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour in French with Magali ...
Read more
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

How to build a city?

28 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 4.00 PM

In the exhibition «Big City Life», very different means of expression are used to present cities. Equipped with all kinds of materials, you will become an urban planner in this workshop, designing your own high-rises, laying out streets and squares, and building bridges. ...
Read more
© Gabriella Giandelli: Tutto l’anno (2014)
Museum

Cartoonmuseum Basel

OpenClosed | 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

St. Alban-Vorstadt 28,  4052  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  We 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Th 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Fr 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Sa 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Su 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

Easter 2021

02 April 2021: Closed

03 April 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

04 April 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

05 April 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM


May Day 2021

01 May 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM


Ascension Day 2021

13 May 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM


Whitsun 2021

23 May 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

24 May 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM


Swiss National Holiday 2021

01 August 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM


Christmas/New Year 2021/2022

24 December 2021: Closed

25 December 2021: Closed

26 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

28 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

29 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

30 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

31 December 2021: Closed

01 January 2022: Closed


Institution

The Cartoonmuseum Basel is the only museum of its kind devoted exclusively to satirical art – from the caricature to the comic. The Late Gothic building on its historic site also includes an unexpected new building by Herzog & de Meuron. Varying, attractively designed exhibitions on political and social themes show the considerable scope of the humorous drawing and the great diversity of artistic techniques. Equal attention is paid to both classical works, some from the museum’s own stocks, and contemporary works.

Admission

Sfr. 12.— Adults
Sfr. 7.— Disabled persons and students up to 25 years
Children up to ten years free

colourkey Free admission

Museums-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

tram 1/2/15 > Kunstmuseum
Exhibition
Exhibition

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Postponed to 2021: Big City Life

13 February 2021 - 20 June 2021

On the basis of Frans Masereel’s famous woodcuts, impressive testimonies to the human condition in the city during the interwar period, the exhibition «Big City Life» at Cartoonmuseum Basel presents originals by comics artists – works that are either set in the city or are ...
Read more
Special

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Comics in the online classroom!

01 March 2021 | 5.00 PM - 6.30 PM

Necessity is the mother of invention: The art education department of the Cartoonmuseum Basel offers ideas and reading based on the new exhibition «Big City Life». Bring variety to the digital classroom!

Zoom meeting always on Monday from 5 to 6.30 pm. Registration ...
Read more
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Cut it yourself

07 March 2021 | 1.30 PM - 4.30 PM

Basel artist Marcel Mayer, who exhibits in Switzerland and abroad, has been running druckwerk, a studio for letterpress, lithography and copperplate printing, since 1994. He has also been teaching woodcut printing at SfG Basel since 2018. In this workshop, he will explain the ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sunday guided tour

14 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour with Murielle Cornut ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sunday guided tour in French

21 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour in French with Magali ...
Read more
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

How to build a city?

28 March 2021 | 2.00 PM - 4.00 PM

In the exhibition «Big City Life», very different means of expression are used to present cities. Equipped with all kinds of materials, you will become an urban planner in this workshop, designing your own high-rises, laying out streets and squares, and building bridges. ...
Read more

Durch Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.

Ausstellung
Ausstellung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Big City Life

Heute: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

13. Februar 2021 - 20. Juni 2021

Ausgehend von Frans Masereels berühmten Holzschnitten, eindrücklichen Zeugnissen der condition humaine in der Grossstadt der Zwischenkriegsjahre, zeigt die Ausstellung «Big City Life» im Cartoonmuseum Basel Originale von Comicschaffenden, die in oder von der Grossstadt handeln. Die Ausstellung fokussiert auf formale und inhaltliche Vielfalt zeitgenössischer Autorencomics und versammelt ausgesuchte, renommierte Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus Europa und den USA.

Ob sie die Stadt als Labor der Dynamik und Moderne feiern oder als Ort der Laster brandmarken, das Dorf in ihr finden oder an ihrer Anonymität verzweifeln, ihre Poesie entdecken oder ihr Chaos zeigen – genauso eigenwillig und vielseitig wie die Perspektiven, aus denen die Künstlerinnen und Künstler die Stadt als Lebensraum betrachten, gerät ihre Wahrnehmung und Darstellung derselben.

Die liebevollen Zeichnungen des Pariser Gentlemans Sempé, die präzisen Alltagsbeobachtungen der Dropsie Avenue von Will Eisner, dem Erfinder der Graphic Novel, die bittere Reaktion auf die Katastrophe von 9/11 des Comickünstlers, «RAW-Magazin» Mitherausgebers und Pulitzerpreisträgers Art Spiegelman, die surreal unterlegten Stadtgeschichten Gabriella Giandellis, die zwischen Wahnsinn und Humor oszillierenden Welten Helge Reumanns – sie alle vereint die starke Präsenz der Stadt als sozialen Raum.
So vielfältig wie die Themen, die hier aufgespannt werden, sind die Techniken, in denen die Werke ausgeführt wurden: Sie reichen von den sparsam und direkt in Farbe übersetzten Eindrücken des Stadtwanderers Christoph Niemann bis zu den expressiv abstrahierten Tuschearbeiten von Lorenzo Mattotti, von den technisch konstruierten Panels von Chris Ware bis zu den spontanen Handzeichnungen von Yann Kebbi, von den mit Blut gemalten Reportagen von Michaël Matthys bis zur naiven Kartonstadt des belgischen Künstlerduos Thierry Van Hasselt und Marcel Schmitz.


Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Comic-Heldinnen und Comic-Helden der Zukunft

15. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

Wie können Comics feministischer, inklusiver und diversitätsbewusster sein? Im Workshop stellt Comiczeichnerin Kati Rickenbach nicht nur spannende Best-Practice-Beispiele vor, sondern unterstützt euch dabei, direkt selbst den Stift zu schwingen und eure eigenen Kreationen zu ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

How to build a city?

16. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

In der Ausstellung «Big City Life» werden Städte mit ganz verschiedenen Ausdrucksmitteln dargestellt. Ausgerüstet mit allerhand Materialien wirst du in diesem Workshop zum Stadtplaner/zur Stadtplanerin, entwirfst deine eigenen Hochhäuser, legst Strassen und Plätze an, baust ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Visite guidée en français

23. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden.

Die ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Kuratorenführung

30. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung mit ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sonntagsführung

06. Juni 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung mit ...
weitere Informationen
Spezial

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Gespräch «Away»

10. Juni 2021 | 19.30 - 20.30 Uhr

Christoph Niemann reist, zeichnet und malt. Dem Basler Publikum seit der famosen Ausstellung «That’s How» im Cartoonmuseum bestens bekannt, hat der Berliner Zeichner inzwischen mit «Away» ein wunderbar reduziertes, in strahlenden Farben gehaltenes Buch mit Reiseeindrücken ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Cut it yourself

13. Juni 2021 | 13.30 - 16.30 Uhr

Der Basler Künstler Marcel Mayer stellt im In- und Ausland aus, arbeitet seit 1994 im Team der Betriebsgruppe von «druckwerk», ein Atelier für Buch-, Stein- und Kupferdruck, und lehrt seit 2018 Holzschnitt an der Basler Schule für Gestaltung. Er wird die Teilnehmenden des ...
weitere Informationen
© Gabriella Giandelli: Tutto l’anno (2014)
Museum

Cartoonmuseum Basel

OffenGeschlossen | 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

St. Alban-Vorstadt 28,  4052  Basel

Öffnungszeiten

Mo Geschlossen  |  Di 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Mi 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Do 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Fr 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Sa 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  So 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Auffahrt 2021

13. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Pfingsten 2021

23. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

24. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Nationalfeiertag der Schweiz 2021

01. August 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Weihnachten/Neujahr 2021/2022

24. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

25. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

26. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

28. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

29. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

30. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

31. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

01. Januar 2022: Geschlossen


Museum

Als einziges Museum der Schweiz widmet sich das Cartoonmuseum Basel ausschliesslich der narrativen Kunst – von der Karikatur bis zum Comic. In attraktiven Wechselausstellungen zu politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen wird die ganze Bandbreite der humoristischen Zeichnung thematisiert. Klassischen Arbeiten, auch aus den eigenen Sammlungsbeständen, wird ebenso Raum gegeben wie zeitgenössischen Werken.

Das Vorderhaus des Museums ist eine ursprünglich spätgotische Liegenschaft, die um einen Neubau von Herzog & de Meuron erweitert wurde.

Eintrittspreise

Erwachsene CHF 12.–
IV-Berechtigte und Personen in Ausbildung bis 25 Jahre CHF 7.–
Freier Eintritt für Kinder bis 10 Jahre

colourkey freier Eintritt

Museums-PASS-Musées freier Eintritt

Schweizerischer Museumspass freier Eintritt

Anfahrt

Tram 1/2/15 > Kunstmuseum
Ausstellungen
Ausstellung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Big City Life

13. Februar 2021 - 20. Juni 2021

Ausgehend von Frans Masereels berühmten Holzschnitten, eindrücklichen Zeugnissen der condition humaine in der Grossstadt der Zwischenkriegsjahre, zeigt die Ausstellung «Big City Life» im Cartoonmuseum Basel Originale von Comicschaffenden, die in oder von der Grossstadt ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Comic-Heldinnen und Comic-Helden der Zukunft

15. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

Wie können Comics feministischer, inklusiver und diversitätsbewusster sein? Im Workshop stellt Comiczeichnerin Kati Rickenbach nicht nur spannende Best-Practice-Beispiele vor, sondern unterstützt euch dabei, direkt selbst den Stift zu schwingen und eure eigenen Kreationen zu ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

How to build a city?

16. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

In der Ausstellung «Big City Life» werden Städte mit ganz verschiedenen Ausdrucksmitteln dargestellt. Ausgerüstet mit allerhand Materialien wirst du in diesem Workshop zum Stadtplaner/zur Stadtplanerin, entwirfst deine eigenen Hochhäuser, legst Strassen und Plätze an, baust ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Visite guidée en français

23. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden.

Die ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Kuratorenführung

30. Mai 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung mit ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sonntagsführung

06. Juni 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung mit ...
weitere Informationen
Spezial

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Gespräch «Away»

10. Juni 2021 | 19.30 - 20.30 Uhr

Christoph Niemann reist, zeichnet und malt. Dem Basler Publikum seit der famosen Ausstellung «That’s How» im Cartoonmuseum bestens bekannt, hat der Berliner Zeichner inzwischen mit «Away» ein wunderbar reduziertes, in strahlenden Farben gehaltenes Buch mit Reiseeindrücken ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Cut it yourself

13. Juni 2021 | 13.30 - 16.30 Uhr

Der Basler Künstler Marcel Mayer stellt im In- und Ausland aus, arbeitet seit 1994 im Team der Betriebsgruppe von «druckwerk», ein Atelier für Buch-, Stein- und Kupferdruck, und lehrt seit 2018 Holzschnitt an der Basler Schule für Gestaltung. Er wird die Teilnehmenden des ...
weitere Informationen