By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exhibition
Exhibition

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Christoph Fischer: The world put on paper

Today: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

21 March 2020 - 30 August 2020

Artist Christoph Fischer, born in 1976 in Lucerne, attended the Lucerne University of Teacher Education and subsequently the Lucerne School of Art and Design. Since 2002, he has worked as a freelance artist and illustrator, e.g. for the publications «NZZ», «WOZ» and «Reportagen».

In his work, an interest in the downtrodden and the underprivileged serves as a leitmotif. With works of reportage, such as «Westside» (2011) about an impoverished district and «On the Long Bench» (2012) about Bahnhofsplatz Lucerne, he deliberately draws our attention to the faces of people on the fringes of society. His sensitive no-frills portraits are loaded with stories, arousing interest and empathy. At a busy Lucerne roundabout, there stands further evidence of Christoph Fischer’s focus on such subject matter. Here, he spent years observing the street sweeper Heinz Gilli from his studio and, in 2016, created a monumental concrete sculpture for him and the residents of this neighbourhood plagued by noise.

Besides working, Fischer often goes on long cycling trips. In 2010, a several-month tour took him from Chicago to San Francisco. Slow prolonged muscle-powered travel and precise observation are to be found all throughout his biography and inspire his work, for instance when he photographed animals that had been run over in the USA and laid them down as a sad sequence in «Roadkill Road».

The oeuvre of this artist, who was awarded the 2019 German-Speaking Swiss Cities’ Comics Scholarship, is presented at Cartoonmuseum Basel in its full breadth, including the first ever presentation of drawings selected from hundreds of sketched dreams. These visions also appear in a Christoph Merian Verlag publication, released to coincide with the exhibition.


© Christoph Fischer, «Auf der langen Bank» (2012)
Museum

Cartoonmuseum Basel

OpenClosed | 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

St. Alban-Vorstadt 28,  4052  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  We 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Th 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Fr 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Sa 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM  |  Su 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

Christmas/New Year 2021/2022

24 December 2021: Closed

25 December 2021: Closed

26 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

28 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

29 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

30 December 2021: 11.00 AM - 5.00 PM

31 December 2021: Closed

01 January 2022: Closed


Institution

The Cartoonmuseum Basel is the only museum of its kind devoted exclusively to satirical art – from the caricature to the comic. The Late Gothic building on its historic site also includes an unexpected new building by Herzog & de Meuron. Varying, attractively designed exhibitions on political and social themes show the considerable scope of the humorous drawing and the great diversity of artistic techniques. Equal attention is paid to both classical works, some from the museum’s own stocks, and contemporary works.

Admission

Sfr. 12.— Adults
Sfr. 7.— Disabled persons and students up to 25 years
Children up to ten years free

colourkey Free admission

Museums-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

tram 1/2/15 > Kunstmuseum
Exhibition
Exhibition

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Postponed to 2021: Big City Life

13 February 2021 - 15 August 2021

On the basis of Frans Masereel’s famous woodcuts, impressive testimonies to the human condition in the city during the interwar period, the exhibition «Big City Life» at Cartoonmuseum Basel presents originals by comics artists – works that are either set in the city or are ...
Read more
Workshop Children

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Summer Workshop: Comic Jam

Tomorrow 04 August 2021 | 2.00 PM - 5.00 PM

How do I turn my idea into a strong story with living characters? What style suits my adventure? An afternoon for experimentation – with colours, formats and a pro: Andi Kiener, co-founder of the well-known Swiss magazine Ampel and the illustrator Noemi Laake, will get your ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Sunday guided tour

08 August 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour with Debora Schär ...
Read more
Workshop Children

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Summer Workshop: Comic Jam

11 August 2021 | 2.00 PM - 5.00 PM

How do I turn my idea into a strong story with living characters? What style suits my adventure? An afternoon for experimentation – with colours, formats and a pro: Andi Kiener, co-founder of the well-known Swiss magazine Ampel and the illustrator Noemi Laake, will get your ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Curator-guided tour

15 August 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Life stories shaped by the big city are the subject of countless novels, films and comics, in which the city takes on many roles: It can be a spectacular setting, remain in the background as an extra, or even become the main protagonist. The guided tour through “Big City ...
Read more
Exhibition

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Posy Simmonds

28 August 2021 - 24 October 2021

Cartoonmuseum Basel presents Switzerland’s first retrospective on the major British cartoonist, comics artist and children’s book author Posy Simmonds (b. 1945), with illustrations, as well as original drawings from her graphic novels and children’s books, plus unpublished ...
Read more
Special

Cartoonmuseum Basel

mittwoch matinee: Nahansichten

01 September 2021 | 10.00 AM - 12.00 PM

Die britische Zeichnerin und Karikaturistin Posy Simmonds arbeitet seit den 1970er-Jahren bei der linksliberalen Tageszeitung «The Guardian». In ihrer über 50-jährigen Zeichnerinnenkarriere spannt sie einen humorvollen, feministischen Bogen von vielgelesenen Kinderbüchern ...
Read more

Durch Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.

Ausstellung
Ausstellung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Christoph Fischer. Der Welt abgeschaut

Heute: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

21. März 2020 - 30. August 2020

Der 1976 in Luzern geborene Künstler Christoph Fischer besuchte das Lehrerseminar und darauf die Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Luzern. Seit 2002 arbeitet er als selbstständiger Zeichner und Illustrator, unter anderem für die «NZZ», die «WOZ» und «Reportagen».

Ein Leitmotiv seiner Arbeit ist das Interesse für Gestürzte und weniger Privilegierte. Gezielt lenkt er in seinen gezeichneten Reportagen «Chicago Westside» (2011) über einen verarmten Stadtteil und «Auf der langen Bank» (2012) zum Bahnhofsplatz Luzern unseren Blick auf die Gesichter von Menschen, die am Rand der Gesellschaft stehen. Seine ungeschönten, sensiblen Porträts sind aufgeladen mit Geschichten und wecken Interesse und Empathie. An einem viel befahrenen Luzerner Kreisel steht ein anderes Zeugnis von diesem inhaltlichen Fokus Christoph Fischers. Dort, von seinem Atelier aus, beobachtete er über Jahre den Strassenwischer Heinz Gilli und schuf 2016 für ihn und die lärmgeplagten Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner des Quartiers eine monumentale Betonskulptur.

Neben seiner Arbeit unternimmt Fischer immer wieder lange Reisen mit dem Fahrrad. 2010 führte ihn eine mehrmonatige Tour von Chicago nach San Francisco. Das langsame, ausgedehnte Reisen mit Muskelkraft und das genaue Hinschauen durchziehen seine Biografie und inspirieren seine Arbeit, zum Beispiel, als er in den USA überfahrene Tiere fotografierte, die er in «Roadkill Road» als traurigen Reigen festhielt.

Das Cartoonmuseum Basel zeigt die ganze Breite des Werks des 2019 mit einem Comic-Stipendium der deutschsprachigen Städte ausgezeichneten Künstlers, darunter erstmals eine zeichnerisch umgesetzte Auswahl aus Hunderten von skizzierten Träumen. Im Christoph Merian Verlag erscheint mit der Ausstellung eine Publikation dieser Traumbilder.


© Christoph Fischer, «Auf der langen Bank» (2012)
Museum

Cartoonmuseum Basel

OffenGeschlossen | 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

St. Alban-Vorstadt 28,  4052  Basel

Öffnungszeiten

Mo Geschlossen  |  Di 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Mi 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Do 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Fr 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  Sa 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr  |  So 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Ostern 2021

02. April 2021: Geschlossen

03. April 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

04. April 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

05. April 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


1. Mai 2021

01. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Auffahrt 2021

13. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Pfingsten 2021

23. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

24. Mai 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Nationalfeiertag der Schweiz 2021

01. August 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr


Weihnachten/Neujahr 2021/2022

24. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

25. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

26. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

28. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

29. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

30. Dezember 2021: 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr

31. Dezember 2021: Geschlossen

01. Januar 2022: Geschlossen


Museum

Als einziges Museum der Schweiz widmet sich das Cartoonmuseum Basel ausschliesslich der narrativen Kunst – von der Karikatur bis zum Comic. In attraktiven Wechselausstellungen zu politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen wird die ganze Bandbreite der humoristischen Zeichnung thematisiert. Klassischen Arbeiten, auch aus den eigenen Sammlungsbeständen, wird ebenso Raum gegeben wie zeitgenössischen Werken.

Das Vorderhaus des Museums ist eine ursprünglich spätgotische Liegenschaft, die um einen Neubau von Herzog & de Meuron erweitert wurde.

Eintrittspreise

Erwachsene CHF 12.–
IV-Berechtigte und Personen in Ausbildung bis 25 Jahre CHF 7.–
Freier Eintritt für Kinder bis 10 Jahre

colourkey freier Eintritt

Museums-PASS-Musées freier Eintritt

Schweizerischer Museumspass freier Eintritt

Anfahrt

Tram 1/2/15 > Kunstmuseum
Ausstellungen
Ausstellung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Big City Life

13. Februar 2021 - 20. Juni 2021

Ausgehend von Frans Masereels berühmten Holzschnitten, eindrücklichen Zeugnissen der condition humaine in der Grossstadt der Zwischenkriegsjahre, zeigt die Ausstellung «Big City Life» im Cartoonmuseum Basel Originale von Comicschaffenden, die in oder von der Grossstadt ...
weitere Informationen
Spezial

Cartoonmuseum Basel

Comics im Online-Klassenzimmer!

01. März 2021 | 17.00 - 18.30 Uhr

Not macht erfinderisch: Die Kunstvermittlung des Cartoonmuseum Basel bietet Ideen und Lektüre ausgehend von der neuen Ausstellung «Big City Life». Bringen Sie Abwechslung ins digitale Klassenzimmer!

Zoom-Meeting immer am Montag von 17 bis 18.30 Uhr. Anmeldung via ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

ABGESAGT: Cut it yourself

07. März 2021 | 13.30 - 16.30 Uhr

Der Basler Künstler Marcel Mayer stellt im In- und Ausland aus, arbeitet seit 1994 im Team der Betriebsgruppe von «druckwerk», ein Atelier für Buch-, Stein- und Kupferdruck, und lehrt seit 2018 Holzschnitt an der Basler Schule für Gestaltung. Er wird die Teilnehmenden des ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

ABGESAGT: Sonntagsführung

14. März 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung mit ...
weitere Informationen
Führung

Cartoonmuseum Basel

ABGESAGT: Visite guidée en français

21. März 2021 | 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr

Von der Grossstadt geprägte Lebensgeschichten sind Gegenstand unzähliger Romane, Filme und Comics. Dabei tritt die Stadt in vielen Rollen auf – sie kann spektakuläre Kulisse sein, sich als Statistin im Hintergrund halten oder gar zur Hauptdarstellerin werden. Die Führung auf ...
weitere Informationen
Workshop

Cartoonmuseum Basel

ABGESAGT: How to build a city?

28. März 2021 | 14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

In der Ausstellung «Big City Life» werden Städte mit ganz verschiedenen Ausdrucksmitteln dargestellt. Ausgerüstet mit allerhand Materialien wirst du in diesem Workshop zum Stadtplaner/zur Stadtplanerin, entwirfst deine eigenen Hochhäuser, legst Strassen und Plätze an, baust ...
weitere Informationen