Durch Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.


Disclaimer
Exhibition
Exhibition All

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Fascinating World of Teddy Bears and Dolls

Today: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Permanent exhibition

The respect shown to every exhibit on display is evident both within the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) and in its show windows in the prominent pedestrian precinct in the centre of Basel. Adequate space has been given to the displays throughout the four floors totalling more than 1,000 square metres. Like the precious exhibits, this venerable building which dates from 1867, has been completely restored to the highest technical and architectural standards. Access by wheelchair is assured on all four floors, including the Ristorante La Sosta on the ground floor and the exhibition rooms on the top floor. The highest standards for an up-to-date museum have been integrated. The same high standards applied to the architecture were also incorporated into the exhibition’s concept. The exhibits can be seen in spacious, specially-finished wood and glass showcases. The items on display are presented in an imaginative and playful way and grouped by theme.

There isn’t a wall of signs obstructing your viewing experience. And in the absence of a misplaced penchant for systematic organization, the objects are not simply arranged based on time period, subject and origin. Those who are well-versed on the subject at hand and want to learn more can find the desired information quickly and easily on their own smartphones or tablets using the interactive museum guide, the interactive touchscreens on the info consoles, or the catalogue.

The toys are displayed as if they are interacting with each other. Large dolls play in shops. Teddy bears on pedal cars engage in a dogged race. And an entire amusement park can be set in motion at the push of a button. Sophisticated computer controls breathe life into the goings-on. High-tech antiques complete the whole perfectly.

With more than 6,000 items, the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) is the largest of its kind in Europe. On the lower floors of the Museum, the main focus centres on doll’s houses and shops. Many have rendered service in real playrooms. Others were purely conceived to be looked at. There were no limits to the pursuit of perfection and the desire to create an object true to scale. Careful workmanship, individuality, imagination, beauty and an overall love for detail are shown in all the items, whether they are noble toys or exclusive pieces of art.

The Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) feels committed to carrying on the tradition of high-quality craftsmanship. Though most of the exhibits date from the decades before and after the beginning of the 20th century, there are also contemporary miniatures and other objects on the third floor. The aim of any new contracts awarded by the Museum are mainly for unconventional items.

Furthermore, the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) broadens its collection topics several times a year. Special exhibitions on a wide variety of topics beckon visitors on a foray into new cultural realms, shining a spotlight on the unknown and unnoticed.

The display windows facing the street are redecorated at regular intervals. As the seasons go by, so the themes vary and invite the busy passer-by to come and linger for a while.

Teddy bears and dolls inhabit the whole house. The most renowned doll manufacturers during the peak period between about 1870 and 1920, when the manufacture of dolls was flourishing, are all represented in the Museum. A place of honour on the fourth floor is given to those teddies who had their heyday in children’s playrooms shortly after the turn of the 20th century. This boom in bears derives from the hunting episode in 1902 of the late American President Theodore Roosevelt. Just two years later, in 1904, our oldest teddy bear first saw the light of day. This teddy bear is together with another especially attractive bear, which was presented as a gift to a friend by the above-mentioned President, as weIl as over two thousand other teddies dating mostly from before 1950. A remarkable number of them were made by Steiff and have the legendary button in the ear. This famous manufacturer is represented in our collection by a variety of different models ranging over several decades. Even someone wanting to take a look at other strong traditional American or European brands will get their money’s worth at the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle). The Basel collection shows a variety and quality which is unique in the world.


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

OpenClosed | 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  We 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Th 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Fr 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Sa 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Su 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Museum, Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM
Museum, in December, daily from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Ascension Day

30 May 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Whitsun

09 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

10 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Art Basel

09 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

10 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

11 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

12 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

13 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

14 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

15 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

16 June 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Swiss National Holiday

31 July 2019: 10.00 AM - 5.00 PM

01 August 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Christmas / New Year

02 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

09 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

16 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

23 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

24 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

25 December 2019: Closed

26 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

27 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

28 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

29 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

30 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

31 December 2019: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

01 January 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

02 January 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

03 January 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

04 January 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

05 January 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Carnival

02 March 2020: Closed

03 March 2020: Closed

04 March 2020: Closed


Institution

Toy Worlds Museum Baste

With over 1,000 m2 on four levels, the museum is one of a kind in Europe. lt is located at the heart of downtown Basle and houses the largest collection of antique teddy bears in the world, together with historic dolls, toy grocery stores, dollhouses, carousels, and contemporary miniatures. Visitors from around the world come to marvel at the museum. Special exhibitions on select, fascinating topics are always being featured at the museum. Your own smartphone or tablet can be used as an interactive museum guide. ln-house Wi-Fi makes this service free of charge.

Admission

CHF 7.–/5.–
Free admission for children up to 16. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult

Museen-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

Barfüsserplatz is just a short stroll of about fifteen minutes from the SBB train station.

Another convenient alternative is the tram – take SBB Tram No. 8 from the train station to Barfüsserplatz or tram No. 11 to the Theater or Barfüsserplatz stop. From Badischer Bahnhof train station, take tram No. 6 to the Barfüsserplatz or Theater stop.

For visitors arriving by car, the carparks near the SBB train station (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen, or Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof, are highly recommended.

Accessibility

The Museum, Restaurant and Shop are wheelchair-accessible. Access to the restaurant from the entrance area is via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°). A portable ramp can be set up from the entrance area to the shop.

All museum floors are accessible via a lift (door width 79.8 cm, depth 115 cm) with no thresholds or obstructions. The disabled toilet on the 1st floor is wheelchair-accessible: door width 79 cm, sitting height 41 cm, hinged handles and hand-rails are provided. The washbasin is designed for wheelchair users and the mirror positioned lower accordingly.

Floor surfaces:
All museum rooms have parquet floors.
The restaurant and shop have stone floors.

Restaurant:
The restaurant presents no problems for wheelchair users and is accessible via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°).

Shop:
A special mobile, collapsible ramp with side rail (200 cm long, 82 cm wide) is available.

How to get here:
The use of public transport is recommended: From the SBB station, tram No. 8 to the “Barfüsserplatz” stop or tram No. 11 to the “Theater” or “Barfüsserplatz” stop. From the Badischer Bahnhof station, tram No. 6 to the “Barfüsserplatz” or “Theater” stop.

You may also come by car or use the Basle Municipal Disabled Persons Transport Service (Tel. 061 666 66 66, advance notification required!). Stopping briefly in front of the museum to allow passengers to get into or out of the car is permitted. Disabled parking spaces are available in the nearby “Steinen” and “Elisabethen” multistorey car parks.

Special points:
Two wheelchairs are available in the museum for wheelchair users and persons with walking difficulties.

The interactive information systems on the various floors can be pulled down to sitting height.
Exhibition
Exhibition All

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Fascinating World of Teddy Bears and Dolls

Permanent exhibition

The respect shown to every exhibit on display is evident both within the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) and in its show windows in the prominent pedestrian precinct in the centre of Basel. Adequate space has been given to the displays throughout the ...
Read more
Exhibition All

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Arte popolare napoletana

Permanent exhibition

One area of our museum's collection of miniatures is dedi- cated to the Neapolitan folk art of nativity-scene making. The exhibition with its scenes of typical everyday Mediter- ranean life conveys a unique insight into the life of the citizens of 18th-century Naples. The ...
Read more
Exhibition All

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Corsets

19 April 2019 - 06 October 2019

Selected pieces from the belle époque and beyond

Numerous myths surround the corset. For more than four centuries, it was considered a means of representing feminine beauty and seduction. Never before has a garment aroused so much longing, rumor and fantasy, ...
Read more

Durch Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.


Datenschutz
Ausstellung
Ausstellung Alle

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Die Sammlung: europaweit einzigartig

Dauerausstellung

Was die Schaufenster an prominenter Passantenlage mitten in Basel bereits verkünden, bestätigt sich im Innern des Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel auf Schritt und Tritt: An diesem Ort wird den ausgestellten Objekten mit Respekt begegnet. Auf über tausend Quadratmetern, verteilt auf vier Stockwerken, wird ihnen gebührend Ausstellungsfläche eingeräumt. Wie die kostbaren Exponate, so wurde auch das ehrwürdige Gebäude aus dem Jahr 1867 selbst auf höchstem technischem Stand komplett restauriert. Rollstuhlgängig vom Ristorante La Sosta im Erdgeschoss bis zu den obersten Ausstellungsräumen, wird es den Erfordernissen modernster Museumsgestaltung vollauf gerecht. Und die gleichen hohen Massstäbe wie für die Architektur wurden auch ans Ausstellungskonzept angelegt. Die Exponate präsentieren sich hinter Raum greifenden, speziell angefertigten Vitrinen aus Holz und Glas. Verspielt und fantasievoll inszeniert wurden die gezeigten Objekte zu ineinander übergreifenden originalgetreuen Themenlandschaften arrangiert.

Kein Schilderwald stört das Seherlebnis. Und ohne falsch verstandenen Hang zur Systematik werden die Gegenstände nicht einfach in zeitlicher Abfolge nach Herkunft und Sparten aufgereiht. Fachlich Versierte, die es gerne genauer wissen wollen, finden über das eigene Smartphone oder Tablet als interaktiven Museumsguide, die interaktiven Touchscreens an den Infokonsolen oder im Katalog dennoch schnell und einfach die gewünschten Informationen.

Dieweil scheinen sich die ausgestellten Spielsachen miteinander zu beschäftigen. Grosse Puppen spielen im Kaufmannsladen. Teddys mit Tretautos liefern sich ein verbissenes Rennen. Und per Knopfdruck setzt sich ein ganzer Vergnügungspark in Bewegung. So kommt dank ausgeklügelter Computersteuerung Leben ins Geschehen. Hightech und Antiquitäten ergänzen sich aufs Beste.

Mit über 6000 Exponaten ist das Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel das grösste seiner Art in ganz Europa. Puppenhäuser und Kaufmannsläden setzen den Schwerpunkt in den unteren Stockwerken des Museums. Viele haben einst ihren Dienst im Spielzimmer geleistet. Andere wiederum wurden von Anfang an als reine Betrachtungsgegenstände angefertigt. Hier waren dem Streben nach Perfektion und Massstabstreue erst recht keine Grenzen gesetzt. Ob edles Spielzeug oder zweckfreies Kunstprodukt, allen Exponaten gemeinsam sind jedoch sorgfältige Ausführung, Eigenwilligkeit, Einfallsreichtum, Schönheit und die alles überragende Liebe zum Detail.

Dieser kunsthandwerklichen Tradition fühlt sich das Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel verpflichtet. Stammen die meisten Exponate aus den Jahrzehnten rund um die Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert, so finden sich im dritten Stock auch zeitgenössische Miniaturen und Gehäuse. Gezielt werden Aufträge vergeben, um mit neuen, unkonventionellen Installationen belebende Akzente ins Museum zu setzen.

Zudem weitet das Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel mehrmals im Jahr sein Sammlungsgebiet aus. Sonderausstellungen zu unterschiedlichsten Themen laden zu kulturellen Streifzügen ein und bringen Unbekanntes oder Unbeachtetes gross heraus.
Für Abwechslung sorgen schliesslich die Schaufenster gegen aussen. Im Laufe der Jahreszeiten widmen sie sich jeweils neuen Themen und laden auch eilige Passanten zum kurzen Verweilen ein.

Teddybären und Puppen bevölkern das ganze Haus. Aus der Blütezeit der Puppenmanufaktur von ca. 1870 bis 1920 sind praktisch alle namhaften Hersteller im Museum repräsentativ vertreten. Den Teddys, deren Triumphzug durch die Kinderstuben kurz nach der Jahrhundertwende begann, wird im vierten Stock ein Ehrenplatz zuteil. Dieser Bärenboom geht auf eine Jagdepisode des amerikanischen Präsidenten Theodore Roosevelt aus dem Jahr 1902 zurück. Und nur zwei Jahre später, 1904, erblickte unser ältester Teddy das Licht der Welt! Zu ihm gesellen sich ein Geschenk – natürlich ein besonders reizendes Exemplar – des besagten Präsidenten an einen Freund sowie über 2000 weitere Artgenossen mit Geburtsjahren meist vor 1950; darunter beachtlich viele mit dem legendären Knopf im Ohr der Firma Steiff. Diese renommierte Herstellerin ist in unserer Sammlung mit einer breiten Palette von verschiedenen Modellen aus mehreren Jahrzehnten vertreten. Doch auch wer die Produkte der anderen amerikanischen oder europäischen Traditionsmarken begutachten will, kommt im Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel voll auf seine Kosten. In Fülle und Qualität ist die Basler Sammlung einzigartig auf der ganzen Welt.


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Geschlossen

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Öffnungszeiten

Mo Geschlossen  |  Di 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Mi 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Do 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Fr 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Sa 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  So 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Museum, Januar bis November, Dienstag bis Sonntag von 10 bis 18 Uhr
Museum, im Dezember täglich von 10 bis 18 Uhr


Auffahrt

30. Mai 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Pfingsten

09. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

10. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Art Basel

09. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

10. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

11. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

12. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

13. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

14. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

15. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

16. Juni 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Nationalfeiertag der Schweiz

31. Juli 2019: 10.00 - 17.00 Uhr

01. August 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Weihnachten/Neujahr

02. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

09. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

16. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

23. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

24. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

25. Dezember 2019: Geschlossen

26. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

27. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

28. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

29. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

30. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

31. Dezember 2019: 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

01. Januar 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

02. Januar 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

03. Januar 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

04. Januar 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

05. Januar 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Fasnacht

02. März 2020: Geschlossen

03. März 2020: Geschlossen

04. März 2020: Geschlossen


Museum

Das Museum mit über 1000 m2 auf vier Stockwerken ist einzigartig in Europa. Es liegt im Herzen der Basler Innenstadt und beherbergt die weltweit grösste Sammlung alter Teddybären sowie historische Puppen, Kaufmannsläden, Puppenhäuser, Karussells und zeitgenössische Miniaturen.

Besucher von fern und nah und aus allen Kontinenten sind davon begeistert. Zu faszinierenden Themengebieten finden laufend wechselnde Sonderausstellungen statt. Das eigene Smartphone oder Tablet kann als interaktiver Museumsguide eingesetzt werden. Durch das hauseigene WLAN ist dieser Service kostenlos.

Eintrittspreise

Normaler Eintritt CHF 7.–
Reduzierter Eintritt für Pensionäre, Menschen mit Behinderungen CHF 5.-

Eintrit frei für Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahren, wenn diese in Begleitung einer erwachsenen Person sind.

Museen-PASS-Musées freier Eintritt

Schweizerischer Museumspass freier Eintritt

Anfahrt

Vom Bahnhof SBB ist es nur ein kurzer Spaziergang von zirka 15 Minuten zum Barfüsserplatz.

Die gemütliche Alternative ist die Strassenbahn – oder wie wir in Basel sie nennen: das Tram – ab Bahnhof SBB Tram Nr. 8 bis Barfüsserplatz oder Tram Nr. 11 bis Haltestelle Theater oder Barfüsserplatz. Ab Badischem Bahnhof Tram Nr. 6 bis Haltestelle Barfüsserplatz oder Theater.

Für Besucherinnen und Besuchern, die mit dem Auto anreisen, sind die Parkhäuser beim Bahnhof SBB (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen oder Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof sehr empfohlen.

Barrierefreiheit

Das gesamte Gebäude inklusive Boutique und Ristorante La Sosta ist rollstuhlgängig.

Jeder Stock des Museums ist über einen Lift ohne Schwellen und Hindernisse passierbar.
Die barrierefreie Toilette befindet sich im 1. Stock. Für Gehbehinderte und Rollstuhlfahrer stehen im Museum zwei hauseigene Rollstühle zur Verfügung. Die interaktiven Informationssysteme auf den Stockwerken lassen sich auf Sitzhöhe herunterziehen.

Weitere Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit erhalten Sie auf unserer Webseite.
Ausstellungen
Ausstellung Alle

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Die Sammlung: europaweit einzigartig

Dauerausstellung

Was die Schaufenster an prominenter Passantenlage mitten in Basel bereits verkünden, bestätigt sich im Innern des Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel auf Schritt und Tritt: An diesem Ort wird den ausgestellten Objekten mit Respekt begegnet. Auf über tausend Quadratmetern, verteilt ...
weitere Informationen
Ausstellung Alle

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Neapolitanische Volkskunst

Dauerausstellung

Die Miniaturen-Sammlung unseres Museums widmet sich in einem Bereich der neapolitanischen Volkskunst des Krippenbaus. Die Ausstellung mit den typischen südländischen Alltagsszenen vermittelt einen einmaligen Einblick in das Leben der Bewohner Neapels im 18. ...
weitere Informationen
Ausstellung Alle

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Korsetts – edel und bunt geschnürt

19. April 2019 - 06. Oktober 2019

Auserlesene Modelle ab der Belle Époque

Um das Korsett ranken sich zahlreiche Mythen. Gut vier Jahrhunderte lang galt es als Mittel der Inszenierung weiblicher Schönheit und Verführung. Noch nie hat ein Kleidungsstück so viel Sehnsüchte, Gerüchte und Fantasien ...
weitere Informationen