By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Bags – Icons & investments

Today: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

19 October 2019 - 05 April 2020

History of a timeless accessory

This popular women’s accessory can be big or small, soft or hard, carried by a handle or slung over the shoulder on a strap. Adorned with splendid gold chains or simple and elegant – the handbag.

Bags have not always been cult objects for women only. In earlier times, both men and women carried pouches and bags. It was customary and practical to wear bags on belts or even as pouches slung around the waist under outer garments.

During the course of fashion history, the unisex bag gradually transformed into the handbag exclusively for female use. When close-fitting chemise dresses made of gauzy muslin came out, there was no choice other than to carry the pouch in the hand or on the arm.

It was not until 1875 that a handbag with a handle was introduced. Women quickly got used to always carrying a bag with a handle.

It was in the 20th century that handbags experienced their great boom. Bags such as the so-called Kelly bag became absolute cult objects and icons. Some of the greatest and most influential bag designers, including Louis Vuitton, Hermès, Gucci and Prada, started in the saddler business and originally produced luxury travel luggage.

The fact that the handbag became known as a symbol of femininity and an object of female desire had a lot to do with fashion staging.

Throughout history, one thing has remained the same: the handbag is a very personal object. It is a container that we use to keep and carry items that belong to us.

This exhibition with around 400 items provides insight into the history of handbags beginning from 1550, when they were made of fabric, tapestry, pearls and leather. The journey ends with exclusive and offbeat catwalk bags by contemporary designers and artists, including pieces from the hip Úna Burke, playful objects by Stasha Chimbur and luxurious bags by Ming Ray of London. The exhibition is rounded off with handbag art objects, such as the work made from alabaster by Barbara Ségal or that of Dutch conceptual artist Ted Noten, both unique pieces.

In cooperation with Liza Snook from the Virtual Shoe Museum in The Hague, works by over 40 renowned designers and artists from 14 countries can be seen in Basel, as well as loans from private collectors, galleries and two museums from the Netherlands. Among them some exquisite bags from the Tassenmuseum Amsterdam.

In short, this exhibition is heaven on earth for handbag lovers and can only be seen in Basel.


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

OpenClosed | 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  We 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Th 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Fr 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Sa 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Su 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Museum, Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM
Museum, in December, daily from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Christmas/New Year 2020/2021

23 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

24 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

25 December 2020: Closed

26 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

27 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

28 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

29 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

30 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

31 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

01 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

02 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

03 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Institution

Toy Worlds Museum Baste

With over 1,000 m2 on four levels, the museum is one of a kind in Europe. lt is located at the heart of downtown Basle and houses the largest collection of antique teddy bears in the world, together with historic dolls, toy grocery stores, dollhouses, carousels, and contemporary miniatures. Visitors from around the world come to marvel at the museum. Special exhibitions on select, fascinating topics are always being featured at the museum. Your own smartphone or tablet can be used as an interactive museum guide. ln-house Wi-Fi makes this service free of charge.

Admission

CHF 7.–/5.–
Free admission for children up to 16. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult

Museums-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

Barfüsserplatz is just a short stroll of about fifteen minutes from the SBB train station.

Another convenient alternative is the tram – take SBB Tram No. 8 from the train station to Barfüsserplatz or tram No. 11 to the Theater or Barfüsserplatz stop. From Badischer Bahnhof train station, take tram No. 6 to the Barfüsserplatz or Theater stop.

For visitors arriving by car, the carparks near the SBB train station (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen, or Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof, are highly recommended.

Accessibility

The Museum, Restaurant and Shop are wheelchair-accessible. Access to the restaurant from the entrance area is via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°). A portable ramp can be set up from the entrance area to the shop.

All museum floors are accessible via a lift (door width 79.8 cm, depth 115 cm) with no thresholds or obstructions. The disabled toilet on the 1st floor is wheelchair-accessible: door width 79 cm, sitting height 41 cm, hinged handles and hand-rails are provided. The washbasin is designed for wheelchair users and the mirror positioned lower accordingly.

Floor surfaces:
All museum rooms have parquet floors.
The restaurant and shop have stone floors.

Restaurant:
The restaurant presents no problems for wheelchair users and is accessible via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°).

Shop:
A special mobile, collapsible ramp with side rail (200 cm long, 82 cm wide) is available.

How to get here:
The use of public transport is recommended: From the SBB station, tram No. 8 to the “Barfüsserplatz” stop or tram No. 11 to the “Theater” or “Barfüsserplatz” stop. From the Badischer Bahnhof station, tram No. 6 to the “Barfüsserplatz” or “Theater” stop.

You may also come by car or use the Basle Municipal Disabled Persons Transport Service (Tel. 061 666 66 66, advance notification required!). Stopping briefly in front of the museum to allow passengers to get into or out of the car is permitted. Disabled parking spaces are available in the nearby “Steinen” and “Elisabethen” multistorey car parks.

Special points:
Two wheelchairs are available in the museum for wheelchair users and persons with walking difficulties.

The interactive information systems on the various floors can be pulled down to sitting height.
Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Fascinating World of Teddy Bears and Dolls

Permanent exhibition

The respect shown to every exhibit on display is evident both within the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) and in its show windows in the prominent pedestrian precinct in the centre of Basel. Adequate space has been given to the displays throughout the ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Arte popolare napoletana

Permanent exhibition

One area of our museum's collection of miniatures is dedi- cated to the Neapolitan folk art of nativity-scene making. The exhibition with its scenes of typical everyday Mediter- ranean life conveys a unique insight into the life of the citizens of 18th-century Naples. The ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

The walking stick with a secret

18 April 2020 - 04 October 2020

The incredible world of gadget sticks

Gadget or system canes by inventive spirits are perhaps the most fascinating and most collected canes. These quirky creations feature hidden devices such as a fan, an umbrella, a bottle and drinking glass, a perfume bottle or a ...
Read more
Denim – stylisch, praktisch, zeitlos
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Denim – stylish, practical, timeless

17 October 2020 - 04 April 2021

Blue fabric with a history

Denim is an essential part of many people’s basic wardrobe. Almost everyone owns at least one denim item. Today, however, denim is much more than just a fabric for clothing. One might think that denim and art have nothing to do with each ...
Read more

Durch Nutzung dieser Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.

Ausstellung
Ausstellung

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Taschen – Ikonen & Wertanlagen

Heute: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

19. Oktober 2019 - 05. April 2020

Geschichte eines zeitlosen Accessoires

Der Liebling der Frauen kann klein oder gross sein, weich oder hart, am Henkel getragen werden oder am Riemen über der Schulter. Mit glänzenden Goldkettchen verziert oder schlicht und elegant – die Handtasche.

Dass Taschen Kultobjekte für Frauen sind, ist nicht immer so gewesen. In früheren Zeiten konnten Beutel und Säckchen von Männern wie Frauen getragen werden. Damals trug man Taschen recht praktisch am Gürtel oder auch als Umbindetaschen unter der ausladenden Kleidung.

Langsam entwickelte sich in der Modegeschichte die Tasche für beide Geschlechter zur reinen Damenhandtasche. Als enge Chemisenkleider aus hauchdünnem Musselin aufkamen, blieb gar keine andere Wahl, als die Beutel in die Hand zu nehmen oder am Arm zu tragen.

Es dauerte noch einige Zeit, bis 1875 die Handtasche mit Henkel eingeführt war. Die Damen gewöhnten sich nun schnell daran, immer eine Tasche am Henkel mitzutragen.

Im 20. Jahrhundert erlebten die Handtaschen dann ihren grossen Boom. Sie wurden zu absoluten Kultobjekten und Ikonen, wie die sogenannte Kelly Bag. Einige der grossen, stilbildenden Taschendesigner wie Louis Vuitton, Hermès, Gucci oder Prada waren aus dem Sattlergewerbe hervorgegangen und hatten ursprünglich luxuriöses Reisegepäck hergestellt.

Dass die Handtasche als Symbol für Weiblichkeit und als Objekt weiblichen Begehrens gilt, hat viel mit Modeinszenierungen zu tun.

Bei allem historischen Wandel ist etwas gleich geblieben: Die Tasche ist ein höchst persönlicher Gegenstand. Sie ist das Behältnis, in dem wir aufbewahren und mit uns nehmen können, was zu uns gehören soll.

Diese Ausstellung mit rund 400 Exponaten ermöglicht einen Einblick in die frühe Geschichte der Taschen ab 1550 aus Stoff, Gobelin, Perlen und Leder. Die Reise endet mit exklusiven und ausgefallenen Laufstegtaschen von zeitgenössischen Designern und Künstlern, darunter Teile der angesagten Úna Burke, verspielte Objekte von Stasha Chimbur oder die luxuriösen Taschen von Ming Ray aus London. Das Bild wird abgerundet mit Taschen-Kunstobjekten, wie der Arbeit aus Alabaster von Barbara Ségal oder dem Werk des niederländischen Konzeptkünstlers Ted Noten, beides Einzelstücke.

In Kooperation mit Frau Liza Snook vom Virtual Shoe Museum in Den Haag sind in Basel Arbeiten von über 40 namhaften Designern und Künstlern aus 14 Ländern zu sehen. Dazu noch Leihgaben von Privatsammlern, Galerien und zwei Museen aus den Niederlanden, darunter einige auserlesene Taschen vom Tassenmuseum Amsterdam.

Kurzum, die Ausstellung ist der Himmel auf Erden für Handtaschenliebhaber und nur in Basel zu sehen.


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

OffenGeschlossen | 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Öffnungszeiten

Mo Geschlossen  |  Di 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Mi 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Do 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Fr 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  Sa 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr  |  So 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Museum, Januar bis November, Dienstag bis Sonntag von 10 bis 18 Uhr
Museum, im Dezember täglich von 10 bis 18 Uhr


Weihnachten/Neujahr 2020/2021

23. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

24. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

25. Dezember 2020: Geschlossen

26. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

27. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

28. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

29. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

30. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

31. Dezember 2020: 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

01. Januar 2021: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

02. Januar 2021: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

03. Januar 2021: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr


Museum

Das Museum mit über 1000 m2 auf vier Stockwerken ist einzigartig in Europa. Es liegt im Herzen der Basler Innenstadt und beherbergt die weltweit grösste Sammlung alter Teddybären sowie historische Puppen, Kaufmannsläden, Puppenhäuser, Karussells und zeitgenössische Miniaturen.

Besucher von fern und nah und aus allen Kontinenten sind davon begeistert. Zu faszinierenden Themengebieten finden laufend wechselnde Sonderausstellungen statt. Das eigene Smartphone oder Tablet kann als interaktiver Museumsguide eingesetzt werden. Durch das hauseigene WLAN ist dieser Service kostenlos.

Eintrittspreise

Normaler Eintritt CHF 7.–
Reduzierter Eintritt für Pensionäre, Menschen mit Behinderungen CHF 5.-

Eintrit frei für Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahren, wenn diese in Begleitung einer erwachsenen Person sind.

Museums-PASS-Musées freier Eintritt

Schweizerischer Museumspass freier Eintritt

Anfahrt

Vom Bahnhof SBB ist es nur ein kurzer Spaziergang von zirka 15 Minuten zum Barfüsserplatz.

Die gemütliche Alternative ist die Strassenbahn – oder wie wir in Basel sie nennen: das Tram – ab Bahnhof SBB Tram Nr. 8 bis Barfüsserplatz oder Tram Nr. 11 bis Haltestelle Theater oder Barfüsserplatz. Ab Badischem Bahnhof Tram Nr. 6 bis Haltestelle Barfüsserplatz oder Theater.

Für Besucherinnen und Besuchern, die mit dem Auto anreisen, sind die Parkhäuser beim Bahnhof SBB (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen oder Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof sehr empfohlen.

Barrierefreiheit

Das gesamte Gebäude inklusive Boutique und Ristorante La Sosta ist rollstuhlgängig.

Weitere Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit erhalten Sie auf unserer Webseite.
Ausstellungen
Ausstellung

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Die Sammlung: europaweit einzigartig

Dauerausstellung

Was die Schaufenster an prominenter Passantenlage mitten in Basel bereits verkünden, bestätigt sich im Innern des Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel auf Schritt und Tritt: An diesem Ort wird den ausgestellten Objekten mit Respekt begegnet. Auf über tausend Quadratmetern, verteilt ...
weitere Informationen
Ausstellung

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Neapolitanische Volkskunst

Dauerausstellung

Die Miniaturen-Sammlung unseres Museums widmet sich in einem Bereich der neapolitanischen Volkskunst des Krippenbaus. Die Ausstellung mit den typischen südländischen Alltagsszenen vermittelt einen einmaligen Einblick in das Leben der Bewohner Neapels im 18. ...
weitere Informationen
Ausstellung

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Der Spazierstock mit Geheimnis

18. April 2020 - 04. Oktober 2020

Die unglaubliche Welt der Systemstöcke

Die System- oder Funktionsstöcke erfinderischer Geister sind möglicherweise die faszinierendsten und am meisten gesammelten Gehstöcke. Diese Kategorie besteht aus kuriosen Stockvarianten mit einer versteckten Funktion wie einem ...
weitere Informationen
Denim – stylisch, praktisch, zeitlos
Ausstellung

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Denim – stylisch, praktisch, zeitlos

17. Oktober 2020 - 04. April 2021

Blauer Stoff mit Geschichte

Denim gehört für viele zum absoluten Basic-Teil für die Garderobe. Praktisch jeder hat ein entsprechendes Teil in seinem Kleiderschrank. Denim ist heute aber weit mehr als ein Stoff für Kleidungsstücke. Man könnte glauben, dass Denim und ...
weitere Informationen