By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

The walking stick with a secret

Today: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

18 April 2020 - 04 October 2020

The incredible world of gadget sticks

Gadget or system canes by inventive spirits are perhaps the most fascinating and most collected canes. These quirky creations feature hidden devices such as a fan, an umbrella, a bottle and drinking glass, a perfume bottle or a sword. Sometimes also scalpels and syringes in canes for doctors. Also, musical instruments, fishing rods, telescopes, sewing kits and corkscrews can be hidden in the head of a cane. More than 1500 patents were applied for during the 18th and 19th centuries. The two essential properties of the gadget cane are something hidden and a combination of several tools or functions. In addition to the official term gadget cane, there are also the more romantic expressions such as canes with inner life or canes with soul.

Findings from the tomb of Tutankhamun, as well as medieval bishopric staffs, prove that specially shaped or ornate sceptres have served as symbols of power since time immemorial. But it was Louis XIII who brought the cane to importance as a royal accessory. The king, as his portraits depict, supposedly always held one in his hands. He also gave them – along with valuable snuffboxes – as gifts of honour. Accordingly, gentlemen who wanted to be fashionable never went without this accessory from that time on. At the time, these were sort of ornate rods without a curved handle that were held in the hand or carried under the arm.

The 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century became the age of the cane. The tremendous popularity then created the desire to be seen with a cane. And so a wealth of unique pieces with practical and strange handles and a mysterious inner life were created. The painter Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, for example, owned a cane containing a bottle that held a pint of absinthe.

This special exhibition features over 250 particularly fascinating system or gadget canes harboring obvious or concealed additional functions. There may be a shaving brush and soap hidden in the handle for men; for women, a little bottle of smelling salts; for the globetrotter, a compass and thermometer. Clarinet canes – rarities created by Swiss instrument maker Ulrich Ammann in around 1800 – are also on display for you to admire. This unique exhibition has come about through loans from private collections in the region. For this reason, it will be shown exclusively in Basel. The exhibition concept is just as unique. State-of-the-art technology will be used to display the system canes in both their open and closed states. A definite must-see!


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

OpenClosed | 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  We 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Th 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Fr 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Sa 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Su 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Museum, Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM
Museum, in December, daily from 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Christmas/New Year 2020/2021

23 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

24 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

25 December 2020: Closed

26 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

27 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

28 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

29 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

30 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

31 December 2020: 10.00 AM - 4.00 PM

01 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

02 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

03 January 2021: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM


Institution

Toy Worlds Museum Baste

With over 1,000 m2 on four levels, the museum is one of a kind in Europe. lt is located at the heart of downtown Basle and houses the largest collection of antique teddy bears in the world, together with historic dolls, toy grocery stores, dollhouses, carousels, and contemporary miniatures. Visitors from around the world come to marvel at the museum. Special exhibitions on select, fascinating topics are always being featured at the museum. Your own smartphone or tablet can be used as an interactive museum guide. ln-house Wi-Fi makes this service free of charge.

Admission

CHF 7.–/5.–
Free admission for children up to 16. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult

Museums-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

Barfüsserplatz is just a short stroll of about fifteen minutes from the SBB train station.

Another convenient alternative is the tram – take SBB Tram No. 8 from the train station to Barfüsserplatz or tram No. 11 to the Theater or Barfüsserplatz stop. From Badischer Bahnhof train station, take tram No. 6 to the Barfüsserplatz or Theater stop.

For visitors arriving by car, the carparks near the SBB train station (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen, or Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof, are highly recommended.

Accessibility

The Museum, Restaurant and Shop are wheelchair-accessible. Access to the restaurant from the entrance area is via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°). A portable ramp can be set up from the entrance area to the shop.

All museum floors are accessible via a lift (door width 79.8 cm, depth 115 cm) with no thresholds or obstructions. The disabled toilet on the 1st floor is wheelchair-accessible: door width 79 cm, sitting height 41 cm, hinged handles and hand-rails are provided. The washbasin is designed for wheelchair users and the mirror positioned lower accordingly.

Floor surfaces:
All museum rooms have parquet floors.
The restaurant and shop have stone floors.

Restaurant:
The restaurant presents no problems for wheelchair users and is accessible via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°).

Shop:
A special mobile, collapsible ramp with side rail (200 cm long, 82 cm wide) is available.

How to get here:
The use of public transport is recommended: From the SBB station, tram No. 8 to the “Barfüsserplatz” stop or tram No. 11 to the “Theater” or “Barfüsserplatz” stop. From the Badischer Bahnhof station, tram No. 6 to the “Barfüsserplatz” or “Theater” stop.

You may also come by car or use the Basle Municipal Disabled Persons Transport Service (Tel. 061 666 66 66, advance notification required!). Stopping briefly in front of the museum to allow passengers to get into or out of the car is permitted. Disabled parking spaces are available in the nearby “Steinen” and “Elisabethen” multistorey car parks.

Special points:
Two wheelchairs are available in the museum for wheelchair users and persons with walking difficulties.

The interactive information systems on the various floors can be pulled down to sitting height.
Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Fascinating World of Teddy Bears and Dolls

Permanent exhibition

The respect shown to every exhibit on display is evident both within the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) and in its show windows in the prominent pedestrian precinct in the centre of Basel. Adequate space has been given to the displays throughout the ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Arte popolare napoletana

Permanent exhibition

One area of our museum's collection of miniatures is dedi- cated to the Neapolitan folk art of nativity-scene making. The exhibition with its scenes of typical everyday Mediter- ranean life conveys a unique insight into the life of the citizens of 18th-century Naples. The ...
Read more
Denim – stylisch, praktisch, zeitlos
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Denim – stylish, practical, timeless

17 October 2020 - 04 April 2021

Blue fabric with a history

Denim is an essential part of many people’s basic wardrobe. Almost everyone owns at least one denim item. Today, however, denim is much more than just a fabric for clothing. One might think that denim and art have nothing to do with each ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Guided tours including current special exhibition

05 December 2020 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Additional guided tours
Guided tours through the museum, including the special exhibition, in German, French, English and Russian can be booked through Basel Tourismus: T +41 61 268 68 32 or +41 61 268 68 68

Entry fee with tour CHF 9.00
Read more
Guided Tour

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Guided tours including current special exhibition

02 January 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Additional guided tours
Guided tours through the museum, including the special exhibition, in German, French, English and Russian can be booked through Basel Tourismus: T +41 61 268 68 32 or +41 61 268 68 68

Entry fee with tour CHF 9.00
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Patriotic Christmas Decorations

21 November 2020 - 14 February 2021

Little Christmas Show

This year’s small special show will focus on Christmas tree decorations that were made for the time of the two world wars. Christmas in wartime had a special meaning. Most family fathers and sons were at the front. Christmas trees were sent to ...
Read more

En poursuivant votre navigation sur le site, vous acceptez notre utilisation des cookies.

Exposition
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

La canne à secret

Aujourd'hui: 10.00 h - 18.00 h

18 avril 2020 - 04 octobre 2020

Le monde incroyable des cannes à système

Les cannes à système créées par des esprits inventifs sont certainement les cannes les plus fascinantes et les plus collectionnées. Cette catégorie rassemble d’étranges variantes de cannes avec une fonction cachée comme un éventail, un parapluie, une bouteille accompagnée d’un verre, un flacon de parfum ou une lame. Il existe également des cannes utilisées par les médecins dans lesquelles se cachent scalpels et seringues. Il est également possible d’y cacher des instruments de musique, des cannes à pêche, des longues-vues, des outils de couture ou encore des tire-bouchons. Au cours des 18e et 19e siècles, plus de 1500 brevets ont été déposés. Les deux caractéristiques essentielles des cannes à système consistent à cacher quelque chose et à associer plusieurs objets ou caractéristiques. Certains donnent à la canne à système des noms plus romantiques comme Canne vivante ou Canne ingénieuse.

Des trouvailles dans la tombe de Toutankhamon ainsi que les bâtons des évêques du Moyen Âge témoignent du fait que les cannes aux formes particulières ou richement décorées sont des symboles du pouvoir depuis la nuit des temps. Mais ce ne serait qu’avec Louis XIII que la canne est devenue un accessoire royal. Comme presque tous les portraits le révèlent, le roi en avait presque toujours une en main, mais cela ne s’arrêtait pas là. Il la donnait également comme présent honorifique, à l’instar de précieuses boîtes à tabac. Ainsi, les gentilshommes qui voulaient être à la mode ne faisaient pas l’impasse sur cet accessoire tendance. Il s’agissait de bâtons plus ou moins richement décorés, sans poignée courbée, que l’on tenait dans la main ou sous le bras.

Le 19e siècle et le début du 20e ont formé l’âge d’or de la canne. La forte demande était couplée à l’ambition de ne pas se contenter d’une canne ordinaire. C’est ainsi que naquirent de nombreuses pièces uniques avec des poignées pratiques et étranges, et une vie intérieure pleine de secrets. Le peintre Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, par exemple, possédait une canne renfermant une bouteille contenant un demi-litre d’absinthe.

Cette exposition temporaire présente plus de 250 cannes à système particulièrement fascinantes, qui disposent de fonctions supplémentaires cachées ou évidentes. Là, une poignée dissimule un pinceau à raser et un savon pour les messieurs, ici des flacons de sel pour les dames, une autre une boussole et un thermomètre pour les voyageurs. Les visiteurs pourront également s’émerveiller devant des pièces rares, comme la canne-clarinette du fabricant d’instruments de musique suisse, Ulrich Ammann, datant d’environ 1800. Cette exposition unique a pu voir le jour grâce à des prêts issus de collections privées de la région. Elle sera visible dans cette forme uniquement à Bâle. Le concept de l’exposition est également unique: grâce à la technique moderne, les cannes à système seront visibles tout autant ouvertes que fermées. Alors, ne manquez pas cela !


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

ouvertfermé | 10.00 - 18.00 h

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Horaires d'ouverture

Lu fermé  |  Ma 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Me 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Je 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Ve 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Sa 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Di 10.00 - 18.00 h

Musée, de janvier à novembre, du mardi au dimanche de 10.00 - 18.00 h
Musée, en décembre, tous les jours de 10.00 - 18.00 h

Musée

Jouet Mondes Musée Bâle

L'exposition déployée sur quatre étages et plus de 1000 m2 est unique en Europe. Le musée se trouve au cœur de la vieille ville de Bâle. Il abrite la collection la plus importante au monde d'ours en peluche, de poupées anciennes, de magasins, de maisons de poupées, de carrousels et de miniatures contemporaines. Cet inventaire enthousiasme les visiteurs du monde entier. Des expositions temporaires consacrées à des domaines thématiques fascinants et passionnants ont lieu régulièrement. Il est possible d'utiliser son smartphone ou sa tablette personnelle en tant que guide interactif du musée. Ce service gratuit vous est proposé grâce à la connexion Wi-Fi du musée.

Tarifs d’entrée

CHF 7.–/5.–
enfants jusqu’à 16 ans: entrée libre; les enfants jusqu’à 16 ans ne sont admis au musée que s’ils sont accompagnés d’une personne adulte

Museums-PASS-Musées Entrée libre

Passeport Musées Suisse Entrée libre

Plan d'accès

De la gare SBB, il s’agit d’une courte promenade à pied d’environ 15 minutes jusqu’à la Barfüsserplatz.

Le tramway constitue une alternative confortable; à la gare SBB, prenez le tram n° 8 jusqu’à Barfüsserplatz ou le tram n° 11, arrêt Theater ou Barfüsserplatz. À partir de la Badischer Bahnhof, prenez le tram n° 6 jusqu’à l’arrêt Barfüsserplatz ou Theater.

Pour les visiteuses et les visiteurs qui voyagent en voiture, nous conseillons d’utiliser les parkings suivants: Gare SBB (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen ou Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof.

Accessibilité

Le Musée, le Restaurant et la Boutique sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant. On monte de l’accueil au restaurant par une rampe (9,41% / 6,24°) de 440 cm de long et 110 cm de large. Il est possible d’installer une rampe portable pour aller de l’accueil à la boutique.

Chaque étage du Musée est accessible en ascenseur (largeur de la porte 79,8 cm, profondeur 115 cm) sans traverses ni obstacles. Au 1er étage, les toilettes réservées aux handicapés sont également accessibles en fauteuil roulant: largeur de la porte 79 cm, hauteur du siège 41 cm, poignées spéciales. Le lavabo permet d’avancer dessous un fauteuil roulant et le miroir est installé à bonne hauteur.

Sols:
Toutes les salles du Musée ont des sols parquetés. Restaurant et boutique disposent d’un sol dallé.

Restaurant:
On peut traverser sans problème le restaurant en fauteuil roulant. Il est accessible par une rampe inclinée (9,41% / 6,24°) de 440 cm de long et 110 cm de large.

Boutique:
Une rampe spéciale (200 cm de long et 82 cm de large), mobile et dépliable, avec bordure latérale, est disponible.

Arrivée:
Nous vous recommandons d’emprunter les transports en commun pour venir au Musée: De la gare CFF, tram n° 8 jusqu’à la Barfüsserplatz ou tram n° 11, arrêt Théâtre ou Barfüsserplatz. De la Badischer Bahnhof, tram n° 6 jusqu’à l’arrêt Barfüsserplatz ou Théâtre.

Il est aussi possible de venir avec son propre véhicule ou avec les transports pour handicapés des deux Bâle (tél. 061 666 66 66, sur réservation seulement!). Il est permis de stationner brièvement devant le Musée pour permettre la montée et la descente. Il existe des places réservées aux handicapés dans les parkings couverts proches «Steinen» et «Elisabethen».

Spécial:
Le Musée met deux fauteuils roulants à la disposition des personnes handicapées ou à mobilité réduite.

Les bornes d’information interactives sur les différents étages peuvent être abaissées à une hauteur adaptée pour une personne assise.
Exposition
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

L'univers fascinant des ours en peluche et maisons de poupée

Exposition permanente

En plein cœur de Bâle, le Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel bénéficie d’une excellente situation. Ses vitrines reflètent parfaitement son esprit, c’est-à-dire un très grand respect pour les objets exposés. Plus de mille mètres carrés, répartis sur quatre étages, offrent de vastes ...
Afficher détails
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Art populaire napolitain

Exposition permanente

Une partie de la collection de miniatures de notre musée est consacrée à l'art populaire napolitain des crèches. Cette exposition, avec ses scènes typiques de la vie quo- tidienne méditerranéenne, offre une vision unique de la vie des habitants de Naples au 18e siècle. L'art ...
Afficher détails
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

La canne à secret

18 avril 2020 - 04 octobre 2020

Le monde incroyable des cannes à système

Les cannes à système créées par des esprits inventifs sont certainement les cannes les plus fascinantes et les plus collectionnées. Cette catégorie rassemble d’étranges variantes de cannes avec une fonction cachée comme un ...
Afficher détails