By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates

Today: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

27 April 2021 - 09 October 2022

True gems produced by the renowned and world-famous family-owned company, Margarete Steiff GmbH, Giengen (Germany), are now on display at the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel. Who does not remember the moving shop window scenes during the Christmas season? They were always the highlight of a Christmas stroll.

Such mechanical showpieces, produced for advertising purposes, can now be admired in motion. The Wochenende im Tierreich (Weekend in the Animal Kingdom) is one of the show highlights. It was originally produced in 1928 with 47 Steiff animals. Some of these animals have special mechanical devices to enable them to move. The theme of this showpiece could apply today as well.

The animals enjoy a weekend in the wellness area. This includes a sauna visit, joint gymnastics exercises, and a small boxing match. The building complex was built in a very modern style for that period, based on the Bauhaus style. At over five meters long and two meters deep, the original showpiece had impressive dimensions.

Although best known for the invention of the teddy bear (1902), the Steiff family business is one of the largest and most important doll manufacturers in the world. Not least because of their diverse and artistically very valuable doll creations. From the beginnings of Steiff’s doll art around 1890 up to modern times, the toy manufacturer has always managed to inspire young and old with spectacular innovations and further developments. The felt dolls of the showpiece, Die Mühle im Grund (The Mill in the Country), are a wonderful example of this extraordinary skill. You will see a good 70 old original Steiff felt dolls in idyllic rural surroundings covering about 15 m2. A unique and authentic piece of European doll history, made in 1926 by the Munich doll artist and Steiff consultant, Albert Schlopsnies. The miniature people consist of humorous and characteristically reproduced realistic village and peasant types in their everyday work. These two showpieces were exhibited at the 1933 World’s Fair in Chicago.

Moreover, there are several smaller movable mechanical Steiff showpieces to be seen, as well as some impressive life-size ones. So, don’t miss it!


Workshop Children

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Workshop to accompany the special exhibition “Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates”

06 November 2021 | 1.30 PM - 5.30 PM

Design your original

Due to the hygiene and safety regulations, the workshops will take place on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

Put your stamp on it
Hello, it’s me again. We haven’t met before? Well, it’s time we did! I’m Koko, the mascot of the special ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Guided tours including current special exhibition

06 November 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Additional guided tours
Guided tours through the museum, including the special exhibition, in German, French, English and Russian can be booked through Basel Tourismus: T +41 61 268 68 32 or +41 61 268 68 68

Entry fee with tour CHF 9.00
Read more
Workshop Children

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Workshop to accompany the special exhibition “Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates”

07 November 2021 | 1.30 PM - 5.30 PM

Design your original

Due to the hygiene and safety regulations, the workshops will take place on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

Put your stamp on it
Hello, it’s me again. We haven’t met before? Well, it’s time we did! I’m Koko, the mascot of the special ...
Read more
Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

OpenClosed | 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Opening Hours

Mo Closed  |  Tu 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  We 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Th 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Fr 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Sa 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM  |  Su 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Museum, Ristorante and Boutique:
Tue. to Sun. from 10 to 18, in December, daily from 10 to 18

Institution

Toy Worlds Museum Baste

With over 1,000 m2 on four levels, the museum is one of a kind in Europe. lt is located at the heart of downtown Basle and houses the largest collection of antique teddy bears in the world, together with historic dolls, toy grocery stores, dollhouses, carousels, and contemporary miniatures. Visitors from around the world come to marvel at the museum. Special exhibitions on select, fascinating topics are always being featured at the museum. Your own smartphone or tablet can be used as an interactive museum guide. ln-house Wi-Fi makes this service free of charge.

Admission

CHF 7.–/5.–
Free admission for children up to 16. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult

Museums-PASS-Musées Free admission

Swiss Museum Pass Free admission

Access

Barfüsserplatz is just a short stroll of about fifteen minutes from the SBB train station.

Another convenient alternative is the tram – take SBB Tram No. 8 from the train station to Barfüsserplatz or tram No. 11 to the Theater or Barfüsserplatz stop. From Badischer Bahnhof train station, take tram No. 6 to the Barfüsserplatz or Theater stop.

For visitors arriving by car, the carparks near the SBB train station (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen, or Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof, are highly recommended.

Accessibility

The Museum, Restaurant and Shop are wheelchair-accessible. Access to the restaurant from the entrance area is via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°). A portable ramp can be set up from the entrance area to the shop.

All museum floors are accessible via a lift (door width 79.8 cm, depth 115 cm) with no thresholds or obstructions. The disabled toilet on the 1st floor is wheelchair-accessible: door width 79 cm, sitting height 41 cm, hinged handles and hand-rails are provided. The washbasin is designed for wheelchair users and the mirror positioned lower accordingly.

Floor surfaces:
All museum rooms have parquet floors.
The restaurant and shop have stone floors.

Restaurant:
The restaurant presents no problems for wheelchair users and is accessible via a 440 cm long, 110 cm wide ascending ramp (9.41% / 6.24°).

Shop:
A special mobile, collapsible ramp with side rail (200 cm long, 82 cm wide) is available.

How to get here:
The use of public transport is recommended: From the SBB station, tram No. 8 to the “Barfüsserplatz” stop or tram No. 11 to the “Theater” or “Barfüsserplatz” stop. From the Badischer Bahnhof station, tram No. 6 to the “Barfüsserplatz” or “Theater” stop.

You may also come by car or use the Basle Municipal Disabled Persons Transport Service (Tel. 061 666 66 66, advance notification required!). Stopping briefly in front of the museum to allow passengers to get into or out of the car is permitted. Disabled parking spaces are available in the nearby “Steinen” and “Elisabethen” multistorey car parks.

Special points:
Two wheelchairs are available in the museum for wheelchair users and persons with walking difficulties.

The interactive information systems on the various floors can be pulled down to sitting height.
Exhibition
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Fascinating World of Teddy Bears and Dolls

Permanent exhibition

The respect shown to every exhibit on display is evident both within the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle) and in its show windows in the prominent pedestrian precinct in the centre of Basel. Adequate space has been given to the displays throughout the ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Arte popolare napoletana

Permanent exhibition

One area of our museum's collection of miniatures is dedi- cated to the Neapolitan folk art of nativity-scene making. The exhibition with its scenes of typical everyday Mediter- ranean life conveys a unique insight into the life of the citizens of 18th-century Naples. The ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates

27 April 2021 - 09 October 2022

True gems produced by the renowned and world-famous family-owned company, Margarete Steiff GmbH, Giengen (Germany), are now on display at the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel. Who does not remember the moving shop window scenes during the Christmas season? They were always the ...
Read more
Workshop Children

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Workshop to accompany the special exhibition “Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates”

06 November 2021 | 1.30 PM - 5.30 PM

Design your original

Due to the hygiene and safety regulations, the workshops will take place on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

Put your stamp on it
Hello, it’s me again. We haven’t met before? Well, it’s time we did! I’m Koko, the mascot of the special ...
Read more
Guided Tour

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Guided tours including current special exhibition

06 November 2021 | 2.00 PM - 3.00 PM

Additional guided tours
Guided tours through the museum, including the special exhibition, in German, French, English and Russian can be booked through Basel Tourismus: T +41 61 268 68 32 or +41 61 268 68 68

Entry fee with tour CHF 9.00
Read more
Workshop Children

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Workshop to accompany the special exhibition “Moving World – Steiff surprises and fascinates”

07 November 2021 | 1.30 PM - 5.30 PM

Design your original

Due to the hygiene and safety regulations, the workshops will take place on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

Put your stamp on it
Hello, it’s me again. We haven’t met before? Well, it’s time we did! I’m Koko, the mascot of the special ...
Read more
Exhibition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

HO HO HO

06 November 2021 - 13 February 2022

From Saint Nicholas to Santa Claus

O come all ye faithful to the Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel (Toy Worlds Museum Basle): every year, in the Advent season, the museum spruces itself up with Christmassy display windows, a redesigned shop and a glittering Christmas ...
Read more

En poursuivant votre navigation sur le site, vous acceptez notre utilisation des cookies.

Exposition
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Un monde animé – Steiff surprend et fascine

Aujourd'hui: 10.00 h - 18.00 h

27 avril 2021 - 27 mars 2022

De véritables bijoux issus de la production de l'entreprise familiale renommée et célèbre dans le monde entier Margarete Steiff GmbH de Giengen (Allemagne) sont à nouveau exposés au Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel. Qui se souvient des scènes animées dans les vitrines de Noël? C'était toujours le point d'orgue des balades au temps des fêtes de fin d’année.

De telles pièces de collection mécaniques, conçues à des fins publicitaires, peuvent être à nouveau admirées en mouvement. Un des clous du spectacle est certainement Wochenende im Tierreich (week-end dans le royaume animal). Il a été conçu en 1928, comprenant à l'origine 47 animaux en peluche. Ces animaux disposent de dispositifs mécaniques spéciaux leur permettant de bouger. Le thème de cette scène pourrait également venir de l'époque actuelle.

Les animaux profitent d'un week-end dans un espace bien-être. On y voit notamment une visite au sauna, des exercices de gymnastique en commun ou encore un petit combat de boxe. Le complexe immobilier était dans un style très moderne pour l'époque, proche du style Bauhaus. Avec plus de cinq mètres de long et deux mètres de profondeur, la pièce originale avait des dimensions impressionnantes.

Bien qu'elle soit principalement connue pour l'invention de l'ours en peluche (1902), l'entreprise familiale Steiff compte parmi les plus grands et les importants fabricants de poupée au monde, notamment en raison de leurs créations de poupées si diverses et à la valeur artistique très précieuse. Des débuts de l'art des poupées signé Steiff vers 1890 jusqu'à l'ère moderne, le fabricant de jouets a toujours réussi à épater petits et grands avec des innovations et développements spectaculaires. Un excellent exemple pour ce savoir-faire exceptionnel, ce sont les poupées en feutre de l'installation Die Mühle im Grund (Le moulin dans la campagne). Sur environ 15 m², environ 70 anciennes poupées en feutre Steiff originales sont réparties dans un environnement de campagne. Une pièce unique et authentique de l'histoire européenne des poupées, conçue en 1926 par le munichois Albert Schlopsnies, artiste fabricant de poupées et conseiller Steiff. Le peuple miniature se compose de personnages pleins d'humour et reproduits de façon caractéristique, ressemblant à de vrais villageois et fermiers dans leur travail quotidien. Ces deux installations ont été présentées en 1933 lors de l'exposition universelle de Chicago.

Il y a également d'autres plus petites pièces mécaniques animées de Steiff à voir, mais aussi d'imposantes pièces en taille réelle. À ne pas manquer donc!


Museum

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

ouvertfermé | 10.00 - 18.00 h

Steinenvorstadt 1,  4051  Basel

Horaires d'ouverture

Lu fermé  |  Ma 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Me 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Je 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Ve 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Sa 10.00 - 18.00 h  |  Di 10.00 - 18.00 h

Musée, Ristorante et Boutique:
du mar. au dim. de 10 à 18 h, en décembre tous les jours de 10 à 18 h

Musée

Jouet Mondes Musée Bâle

L'exposition déployée sur quatre étages et plus de 1000 m2 est unique en Europe. Le musée se trouve au cœur de la vieille ville de Bâle. Il abrite la collection la plus importante au monde d'ours en peluche, de poupées anciennes, de magasins, de maisons de poupées, de carrousels et de miniatures contemporaines. Cet inventaire enthousiasme les visiteurs du monde entier. Des expositions temporaires consacrées à des domaines thématiques fascinants et passionnants ont lieu régulièrement. Il est possible d'utiliser son smartphone ou sa tablette personnelle en tant que guide interactif du musée. Ce service gratuit vous est proposé grâce à la connexion Wi-Fi du musée.

Tarifs d’entrée

CHF 7.–/5.–
enfants jusqu’à 16 ans: entrée libre; les enfants jusqu’à 16 ans ne sont admis au musée que s’ils sont accompagnés d’une personne adulte

Museums-PASS-Musées Entrée libre

Passeport Musées Suisse Entrée libre

Plan d'accès

De la gare SBB, il s’agit d’une courte promenade à pied d’environ 15 minutes jusqu’à la Barfüsserplatz.

Le tramway constitue une alternative confortable; à la gare SBB, prenez le tram n° 8 jusqu’à Barfüsserplatz ou le tram n° 11, arrêt Theater ou Barfüsserplatz. À partir de la Badischer Bahnhof, prenez le tram n° 6 jusqu’à l’arrêt Barfüsserplatz ou Theater.

Pour les visiteuses et les visiteurs qui voyagent en voiture, nous conseillons d’utiliser les parkings suivants: Gare SBB (Centralbahnparking), Elisabethen, Steinen ou Parkhaus Badischer Bahnhof.

Accessibilité

Le Musée, le Restaurant et la Boutique sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant. On monte de l’accueil au restaurant par une rampe (9,41% / 6,24°) de 440 cm de long et 110 cm de large. Il est possible d’installer une rampe portable pour aller de l’accueil à la boutique.

Chaque étage du Musée est accessible en ascenseur (largeur de la porte 79,8 cm, profondeur 115 cm) sans traverses ni obstacles. Au 1er étage, les toilettes réservées aux handicapés sont également accessibles en fauteuil roulant: largeur de la porte 79 cm, hauteur du siège 41 cm, poignées spéciales. Le lavabo permet d’avancer dessous un fauteuil roulant et le miroir est installé à bonne hauteur.

Sols:
Toutes les salles du Musée ont des sols parquetés. Restaurant et boutique disposent d’un sol dallé.

Restaurant:
On peut traverser sans problème le restaurant en fauteuil roulant. Il est accessible par une rampe inclinée (9,41% / 6,24°) de 440 cm de long et 110 cm de large.

Boutique:
Une rampe spéciale (200 cm de long et 82 cm de large), mobile et dépliable, avec bordure latérale, est disponible.

Arrivée:
Nous vous recommandons d’emprunter les transports en commun pour venir au Musée: De la gare CFF, tram n° 8 jusqu’à la Barfüsserplatz ou tram n° 11, arrêt Théâtre ou Barfüsserplatz. De la Badischer Bahnhof, tram n° 6 jusqu’à l’arrêt Barfüsserplatz ou Théâtre.

Il est aussi possible de venir avec son propre véhicule ou avec les transports pour handicapés des deux Bâle (tél. 061 666 66 66, sur réservation seulement!). Il est permis de stationner brièvement devant le Musée pour permettre la montée et la descente. Il existe des places réservées aux handicapés dans les parkings couverts proches «Steinen» et «Elisabethen».

Spécial:
Le Musée met deux fauteuils roulants à la disposition des personnes handicapées ou à mobilité réduite.

Les bornes d’information interactives sur les différents étages peuvent être abaissées à une hauteur adaptée pour une personne assise.
Exposition
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

L'univers fascinant des ours en peluche et maisons de poupée

Exposition permanente

En plein cœur de Bâle, le Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel bénéficie d’une excellente situation. Ses vitrines reflètent parfaitement son esprit, c’est-à-dire un très grand respect pour les objets exposés. Plus de mille mètres carrés, répartis sur quatre étages, offrent de vastes ...
Afficher détails
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Art populaire napolitain

Exposition permanente

Une partie de la collection de miniatures de notre musée est consacrée à l'art populaire napolitain des crèches. Cette exposition, avec ses scènes typiques de la vie quo- tidienne méditerranéenne, offre une vision unique de la vie des habitants de Naples au 18e siècle. L'art ...
Afficher détails
Exposition

Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel

Un monde animé – Steiff surprend et fascine

27 avril 2021 - 27 mars 2022

De véritables bijoux issus de la production de l'entreprise familiale renommée et célèbre dans le monde entier Margarete Steiff GmbH de Giengen (Allemagne) sont à nouveau exposés au Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel. Qui se souvient des scènes animées dans les vitrines de Noël? ...
Afficher détails